Zorbing

Nolton Stables Reviews

Here are some of the latest reviews of Nolton Stables from press, magazines and travel websites.

 

Love It! Magazine FeatureLove It! Magazine Feature

"WHAT WAS THE BEST PART OF THE TRIP?

Our horse ride on the beach at Druidston Haven with Nolton Stables was a special experience. With no riding experience, I was worried how we would all cope on the horses, but I needn’t have. The horses were well trained and the staff taught us all to canter on the beach – something I thought we’d never achieve! The sun was shining and it was one of those memories I will treasure forever."

See the full article here.

 

Featured in Coast MagazineFeatured in Coast Magazine

5 of the best beach rides: "With the cliffs, rocks and sands of Druidston Haven a short hack away, even four-year-olds on lead-reins can paddle a pony here. Meanwhile, happy canterers can enjoy the mile-long shoreline."

See Horseriding on the beach: five of the best rides

 

Featured on Coast & Country, Series 2 Episode 5

"Ruth Wignall and her family continue their quest to find some of the best days out in Wales. This week they visit the smallest city in Britain, St Davids. They take a tour around the Cathedral before pony trekking along the beach in Nolton Haven."

Go to: Catch up: Coast and Country, Series 2 Episode 5 - Nolton Stables is featured at 18:17

 

Explore Wales - Telegraph (2012)

Explore Wales - Telegraph (2012)

"Beach ride, Druidstone Haven. Just 20 minutes' drive further south along the A487 and Welsh Road, set within the magnificent westerly facing St Brides Bay, this stretch of sand backed by high cliffs is a glorious spot for a late afternoon hack. Both novice and confident equestrians can enjoy an hour-and-a-half ride along the beach with the experienced team at Nolton Stables. Few things in life rival racing through the surf on the edge of the shoreline."

 

Best for Families - Harper's Bazaar (April 2012)

"With spectacular beach riding along the dramatic Pembrokeshire coast, and riding packages for all abilities, Nolton Stables is ideal for families."

 

Lifes a beach for instructorLife’s a beach for instructor - Wales On Sunday (Jan 2012)

THE hardest choice James Owen has to make at work each morning is which of five beaches to ride along and for how long.

As a riding instructor at his family’s Nolton Stables in Pembrokeshire, James leads treks daily along Newgale, Druidstone, Broadhaven, Little Haven or Nolton beaches.

Galloping along with surf spray in his face and the sun on his back beats working anywhere else in the world, he reckons.. Read more...

 

Ten Great Horse Riding Holidays - South Wales Echo (Sept 2011)

10 Great Horse Riding Holidays

Stay in a self-catering cottage (with the fridge stocked full of supplies for a full English). Ride for an hour and a half in the morning, with a stop off at Glebe House for lunch, and then a further hour and half riding in the afternoon along the glorious beaches. Perfect for beginners, novices, and experienced riders, there’s even chance to try zorbing in the stables’ giant zorbing ball.

 

Best Activities and Days Out - Waitrose (July 2011)

Best Activities and Days Out - Waitrose (July 2011)

"With epic stretches of beach between rolling surf and towering cliffs, Nolton Stables adds a salty zing to the usual horse or pony trek. The well-staffed rides, allowing all levels to hit thier natural stride, hack down country lanes before tackling the vast wave-lashed sands of Druidston Haven. If the tide's in, you head for a 35-acre private valley, home to badgers and buzzards, while longer treks add in coastal tracks and, out of season, the chance to get your hooves wet on the two miles of beach at Newgale and Broad Haven."

 

Beautiful Britain - Pembrokeshire - Sainsbury's Magazine (2011)

"Nolton Stables, near Haverfordwest, offers the chance to enjoy the beauty of the coastline on horseback. Go for an exhilarating ride through woods and along beaches to take in stunning scenery and splash through the surf."

Guest Comments 2015

Our first review of the year is from Sophie who was the first to use our new stables available for hire while on holiday at Nolton Stables.

"The Three Amigos, Sophie, Catherine and Anne were looking for a holiday cottage with stables where they could take their own horses for a beach riding holiday. After much searching and googling we found Nolton Stables, but oh no, they didn't have any stables for rent.

After a conversation with Gill and Lawson, they offered to convert one of their barns for our 3 horses, we were over the moon, amazing.

When we arrived there was the most perfect set up, 3 lovely brand new stalls in the beautiful old stone barn, with all mod cons, automatic watering, electric lights, hay for bedding and the most delicious haylage – and all of this in the most idyllic surroundings. The cottage just at the top of the garden, the ponies down on the yard within a stone's throw. We were in heaven.

The hacking and beach riding was amazing, all within easy reach, no trailering necessary. We loved being able to have the horses right there with us. Husbands went exploring while us girls went riding, it was magical, we loved every minute of it.

Lawson and his team went the extra mile to make sure all our needs and those of the horses were taken care of. We can only say a huge thank you, and we will be back again, but for longer next time!

The Three Amigos and the horses thoroughly recommend Nolton Stables for a fab beach riding holiday."

Sophie Johnson, May 2015

Bring your Horse on Holiday_3

Guest Comments 2014

 

Good Riding School - "We rode with you on Thursday and I just wanted to say what a great experience. Lawson made sure we had just the right mounts and we cantered to our hearts content.  I rode bandit and Ella rode Milo. I am so glad we chose you and we will definitely come again. We have left you a 5* review on trip advisor. Once again, thanks for restoring my confidence and my faith in good riding schools."

Denise Steel and Ella (Nov 2014)

Riding for Children - "My children came riding Wednesday afternoon and I just wanted to say what a lovely time they had. The lady, Mel, who looked after my son on the leading rein was great with him and my daughter got to do some cantering and said the leaders were very kind to her. They both had a lovely time and we'll be back."

Louise Eames (Nov 2014)

Trefrane House & Beach Horse Riding - "Just to say that we had an absolutely wonderful time at Trefrane House thank you!  The house and garden were just lovely, it was great being so very close to the coast walks and the children had a fabulous time on the beach ride and doing the other activities - Druidstone beach was simply spectacular. We really hope to come again some day!"

Sarah Diskin (Aug 2014) 

Pony Riding for Children - "The children did the 1.5 ride to the Beach last Wednesday and it was FANTASTIC!  Thank you, what an amazing experience for them.  And, what a friendly bunch of people you are - I was so happy to leave the little ones in your care and when I managed to get down to the beach they looked happy, relaxed and cared for."

Huge thanks, Suzanne (Aug 2014)

Glebe House & Riding - "Alice and I had a great few days with you at Nolton. Glebe House is a delightful place to stay, very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Penny made us feel very welcome and very special. The organisation of the rides was brilliant and the ponies lovely. All the staff were great too, so welcoming and friendly as well as good at helping us to enjoy the rides and be safe. It was a super experience and we just wanted to thank you all for making it so. I am already looking to see if we can find time for a return visit."

Sue and Alice (Aug 2014)

Beach Horse Riding - "I just wanted to say 'Thank you!'. My daughter Ana had a lovely time again with you all.  The riding experience is first class as always, but your warmth, care and friendliness is something extra, and is priceless.

We will certainly come again soon."

Sandra Joy (Aug 2014)

  

Beach Horse Riding - "A huge thank you to all of you for making our weekend so fantastic! Emily and I loved every minute!

Your horses are so lovely and each member of staff was so kind, knowledgeable and fun to be with! 

We will certainly drive everyone mad telling them how brilliant you all are!!"

Julie and Emily Holmes (June 2014) 

Beach Horse Riding, Segway & Zorbing - "Just wanted to say thank you for a lovely weekend. The beach horse riding was a particularly amazing experience. Segwaying and zorbing were great too. The accommodation was beautiful and warm when we arrived.

All the staff we met were fun and friendly and it was clear how much you all enjoy what you do.

Thank you once again, we hope to see you in the not so distant future."

Jo Chapman (Nov 2013) 

Beach Horse Riding - "Just wanted to say a huge thank you to everyone at Nolton Stables for the fantastic morning's riding we had at the weekend to celebrate Mother's Day!  This was our second visit, our first having been a Mother's Day treat 8 years ago!!  Our family has grown - there are four of us now, and our youngest daughter Poppy, who is almost 5, couldn't wait to ride.  A really huge thank you to Carole (I think!!) who led Poppy and Asta Pasta (please go faster!!)- Poppy had a fantastic time and was so happy and relaxed with Carole. It was lovely to hear them chatting away about the countryside as we made our way down to the beach. In fact all the staff on our ride were great, offering advice and tips which meant we felt more confident as time went on. So much so that our eldest daughter felt ready to attempt (if not execute!!! Sshh!) a canter along the beach. We all thoroughly enjoyed the morning and just wanted to let you know that we appreciated the great horses, people and scenery at Nolton.  We hopefully won't leave it so long to come back this time!

Sal, Mark, Holly & Poppy (April 2014)

Guest Comments 2013

"Just wanted to say thank you for a lovely weekend. The beach horse riding was a particularly amazing experience. Segwaying and zorbing were great too. The accommodation was beautiful and warm when we arrived.

All the staff we met were fun and friendly and it was clear how much you all enjoy what you do.

Thank you once again, we hope to see you in the not so distant future."

Jo Chapman (Nov 2013)

"Dear Penny, Lawson, John, James and all your wonderful staff,

Thank you for giving us a great few days riding. It was hard imagining you all on the beach this afternoon and we could not be there. We really appreciated the ride this morning. Lily had her riding lesson this afternoon and instructor was impressed at how well she was cantering.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes"

Anne & Lily (August 2013)

"I just wanted to say thank you all very much for a fantastic beach ride on Monday. My Mum and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Mum was very nervous and just wanted to walk while I have been riding for a while and had an excellent canter in the waves. The whole ride was very well organised and I was really impressed with the behaviour of all the horses and the professionalism of all the staff we met. Thank you very much!"

Suzanne Austen (August 2013)

"A quick email to say a big thank you to all the staff at Nolton Stables, my friend Gayle and I did several rides with you over the weekend, and we couldn't have had a better time (or weather!). The staff and ponies were fantastic, really confidence inspiring, I've come away with a real sense of achievement and can't wait to come back again."

Cath Pert (July 2013)

"I just wanted to say thank you to everyone for a fantastic week! As always the welcome was warm and the horses brilliant. We couldn't have picked a better week weather wise. Give Summer a big hug from me! She made my week!"

Joy Barnes (July 2013)

"Thanks for today - we had such a great time! Jen loved every minute and will remember it for a long time!! Hope you get a good summer and plan to see you again next time we're down!"

Jackie and Jen (June 2013)

Thank you once again (for the 4th time) for a wonderful visit. Both the riding and the hospitality are second to none. Very much enjoyed the evenings in the lounge sat in front of the log burner! The crazy amount of riding has been good training for Peru and I look forward to coming back in October for another go.

Becky (Feb 2013)

As an extended family be very proud of what you are doing. It’s all excellent, couldn’t fault a thing – ginger cake stunning! See you all again as soon as we can (next week-end?).

Wendy and Sue (March 2013)

Thank you for a fabulous weekend. Breakfast and lunch great and the room very cosy and warm. We both had a fantastic time riding especially on the beach.

Will be back with our family.

Dean and Nicola (April 2013) 

Guest Comments 2012

Thank you for an excellent weekend, superb rides in the forest, on the cliff tops and especially on the beach. Wonderful hospitality and super breakfasts and lunches. Thank you very much for everything

Anne-Marie and Julie (Sept 2012)

Thank you all for a wonderful 4 day weekend. It’s our 3rd time riding with you guys and 2nd time staying here. Your home is beautiful, food delicious and riding just outstanding! You can see these horses are part of your family – all are amazing!

Helena and Sam (Oct 2012)

To everyone that we have met this weekend, thank you for a fab time and being so flexible with accommodating our needs. Everyone has been so friendly and interested in giving us the best experience possible. Staying here has been a real treat for us both and we look forward to seeing you all in 2013.

Tina and Georgina (Nov 2012) 

Guest Comments 2010 & 2011

These are just a selection of comments that have come from people who have stayed in Glebe House.

"I would like to add my thanks for giving us such a wonderful ride-both experienced and beginners, including the 2 terrified ones who have grown about 6" after their experience and wish to get on a horse again! We were all so impressed at how well organised you were, how incredibly helpful and pleasant all your staff were and how fantastically well behaved all the horses were. Many of us are already looking for an excuse to come again!"

Best wishes, Fiona (11/10/10)

 

"I just want to say a big thank you to the staff at Nolton Stables. The whole experience was very enjoyable and as complete beginners we really felt as though we had a proper riding experience. The beach ride was beautiful! We enjoyed it so much we went to the woods the next morning. Glebe House was also a little gem - it was stylish but comfortable and homely and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks for a lovely time."

Kathy (14/07/10)

 

"I just wanted to express my thanks for a really enjoyable beach ride at Druidstone last week - it was great riding Ace plus the warm, sunny weather made it even more special riding through the waves! I will certainly be recommending Nolton Stables to friends and colleagues alike and hope to be making a return visit next summer... My husband and I fell in love with Pembrokeshire."

(19/06/10)

 

"We have just come back from a visit to Nolton, principally to do some riding with a local stables offering beach rides. Not only were Nolton Stables fantastic with how they looked after both us and the horses in their care, but what gorgeous countryside we were introduced to as well. The beaches and their views were unbelievably beautiful, and Pembrokeshire has become our new favourite place in Britain. Nolton Stables deserve a special mention as not only are they wonderful ambassadors for Pembrokeshire, but also for something all of the family can enjoy doing together, no matter what the riding ability."

Sherry and Peter (25/04/10)

 

"Nolton Stables is a 5 star operation with friendly, knowledgeable guides and sensible quality horses. All the rides were top-notch and the scenery in this area is stunning! Thanks again to everyone, especially Gill for helping me make my reservation and Lawson for running such a wonderful facility! We would love to come and visit you again someday!"

Laura (15/04/10)

 

"Thank you for the best weekend ever, we all had the most wonderful time and I have the pleasure of seeing Flannagan everyday as I bought a mug with his face on it."

(19/02/10)

 

"I just wanted to say thank you to everyone for making our few days with you at the end of October such an enjoyable experience. We shall certainly return and in the meantime if ever Cobweb wants a new home.....  Thanks again."

Annie and Andy

 

"Everything 100%! Lovely friendly stay! excellent riding! Can't wait to come back!"

Howard and Gill

 

"Thank you so much for a fabulous 5 star weekend. Quality emphasis, organisation and customer service were all "top notch". A great location, house and fantastic weather. All levels of rider were catered for with ease and no fuss. We will definitely be back."

Edwina (John Lewis / Waitrose Riding Club Weekend)

 

"Where to start - the accommodation - outstanding and beautifully presented - the ride awesome! better than I could of imagined - the food - fresh and delicious. A wonderful weekend only made better by the unbelievable weather."

Nyla, Mick, Megan, Maddie and Helena

 

"We said we'd be back! Another fantastic weekend of fantastic riding a lovely home to stay in and lots of fun. Thanks to everybody for such a great weekend. Hope to see you next year!"

Marie

 

"Thank you so much for a lovely, relaxing weekend. The house is beautiful, the breakfast was delicious and the riding was amazing! We don't want to leave so soon....we will be back!"

Jonathan and Kate (Reading)

 

"At Last! our search for the most perfect Bed and Breakfast accommodation has come to an end. Thank you both so much for everything - wonderful!"

Andy, Ian and Hannah (Cornwall)

 

"Thank you again for a wonderful weekend. Your home is gorgeous and so welcoming. Thank you to everyone at the Stables for the wonderful rides and for the pleasure and privilege of grooming and tacking."

Pauline, Janet, Victoria and Beth (Manchester)

 

"We have loved having your beautiful and unique house to ourselves. The riding has been brilliant (so pleased to see the horses being really well looked after) Thanks also to John and lovely Carol at the yard."

Amy (Kent)

 

"Thank you very much indeed!! What a fantastic and relaxing (relaxed) place to stay. We wish our 2 days had been 2 weeks and it probably will be in the future. My wife loved the horse-riding especially along the beach. Your hospitality and generosity could not have been better - and what a great shower."

Paul & Karen (Liverpool)

 

"You have a lovely house and we really enjoyed our stay. As usual the riding was excellent to. We really liked the breakfast especially the bacon. Thanks for looking after us so well. I'm sure I'll be back."

Caroline and Ian

 

"Thank you very much we loved our room. The horses and rides have been brilliant and the house has been so peaceful. We hope to come and visit again."

Hannah & Sadie

 

"Warmest thanks for such a wonderful time!! You have done the house up so beautifully. Your warm kind Welsh hospitality has been much appreciated - we all thoroughly enjoyed the beach riding - memories to take home and treasure forever!! We'll be back next year."

Ian and Helen

 

"I fell in love with your B&B on the website, but the internet can never truly describe how beautiful and peaceful your home is."

Andrea (USA)

 

"What a great time! We were so comfortable in your beautiful house, the horses are the best and the sun came out on your wonderful unspoilt countryside. Thank you all for everything."

Lynne & Ann

 

Beach Riding Gift Vouchers

Beach Riding Gift Vouchers Online

Zorbing Gift Vouchers

Zorbing & Riding Gift Vouchers

Segway Gift Vouchers

Segway Gift Vouchers

Tripadvisor Reviews

Tripadvisor
Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn
bottomImage-07.jpg